• La nouvelle vie de Lily Riser commence un soir d'hiver glacial. Seulement vêtue d'un pyjama, elle passe la porte. Elle serre sa fille dans ses bras. Et se met à courir. Loin de la cabane dans la forêt, loin du père de Sky, de cet homme qui l'a séquestrée pendant huit ans et qui, pour la première fois, n'a pas tourné le verrou. Lily est libre, mais son calvaire n'est pas pour autant terminé. Si l'enlèvement et les sévices qu'elle a subis ne l'ont pas seulement marquée à vie, sa disparition a également détruit sa famille, surtout sa soeur jumelle. Tous tentent tant bien que mal de reconstruire un avenir, sans se douter qu'ils vont être à nouveau mis à rude épreuve. Depuis sa cellule de prison, le ravisseur de Lily compte bien punir sa Baby Doll pour sa désobéissance.Dans un style simple et direct, Hollie Overton échafaude une intrigue parfaitement orchestrée et jongle avec nos nerfs. Le Figaro littéraire.Baby Doll rend très bien le lien unique que partagent les vraies jumelles. Kirkus.Traduit de l'anglais par Françoise du Sorbier.

  • Perfide

    Hollie Overton

    Travailler dans les couloirs de la mort n'était pas le métier dont avait rêvé Kristy  : elle qui aurait voulu être psychologue pour aider les autres, elle affronte chaque jour ce que l'humanité fait de pire. Mais cela lui permet de prendre soin de ceux qu'elle aime  : son fils, qu'elle élève seule et son père, gravement malade.
    Un quotidien solitaire que vient bouleverser sa rencontre avec Lance Dobson. Un homme si charmant et attentionné qu'à ses côtés Kristy croit enfin avoir trouvé le bonheur et la sécurité.
    Jusqu'à ce qu'il révèle sa vraie nature  : sadique et manipulatrice. Bientôt, le mariage de Kristy se transforme en peine à perpétuité et elle ne voit qu'une solution pour sauver sa famille qu'il menace chaque jour un peu plus. Il doit disparaître...
    «  Un thriller haletant... La tension et le drame s'intensifient de façon exponentielle. » Publishers Weekly   Élevée par sa mère, Hollie Overton a appris à l'âge adule que son père était un criminel. Membre du Gang Overton qui avait défrayé la chronique au Texas dans les années 1960, il a passé plusieurs années en prison pour meurtre. Hollie Overton a travaillé comme scénariste pour des séries à succès telles que «  Cold Case  ». Après Baby Doll, paru aux éditions Mazarine en 2018 et traduit dans une dizaine de pays, Perfide est son second roman.     Traduit de l'anglais (Etats-Unis) par Françoise du Sorbier

  • THE RUNAWAY

    Hollie Overton

    • Arrow
    • 3 Octobre 2019

    The captivating new novel from the author of Sunday Times bestseller and Richard and Judy Book Club pick, Baby Doll. Perfect for fans of Fiona Barton's The Child and Shari Lapena's The Couple Next Door.

    When forensic psychologist Becca Ortiz agrees to foster teenage runaway Ash, she knows she will love and protect her as if she were her own daughter.

    Ash may have turned her back on her old life but there is still one person that she can't bear to lose. Now he is about to drag her back into a dark world where nothing and no one is safe.

    How far will Becca go to save her daughter?

    And can she find her before it is too late?

    Praise for Hollie Overton's heart-racing thrillers:

    'Stunning . . . Dark tale' Heat 'Moves at breakneck speed' Stylist 'Incredibly powerful' Sunday Mirror 'Kept me transfixed and entertained until the very last page' Tess Gerritsen

    Poche 12.90 €
    Prix indicatif - Contacter votre libraire
    Sur commande
  • She kept moving forward. She didn't stop. She didn't look back.Lily has been abducted from outside her high-school gates.For eight long years she's been locked away from the outside world. During that time she's changed from a girl into a woman. She's had a baby.And now she has seized her chance and escaped.Running for her life, with her daughter in her arms, she returns to her family and the life she used to know - to her much-loved twin sister Abby, her mum, her high-school boyfriend - and her freedom.But is it possible to go back?Lily's perfect life as a teenager doesn't exist any more. Since she's been gone, her family's lives have changed too, in ways she never could have imagined.Her return, and the revelation of who took her, will send shockwaves through the whole community.Impossible not to read in one sitting, Baby Doll is a taut psychological thriller that focuses on family entanglements and the evil that can hide behind a benign facade.

  • Anglais The Walls

    Hollie Overton

    From the author of Sunday Times bestseller and Richard & Judy Book Club pick, Baby Doll, comes a riveting thriller with domestic violence, murder and how far one woman will go to protect her family at its core.'Every bit as gripping as her best-selling debut Baby Doll ... an addictive and suspenseful thriller'
    Sunday Mirror
    'Stunning... Dark tale'
    Heat'Will keep you gripped'
    Fabulous, The Sun on Sunday5 stars 'From the author of the stunning Baby Doll comes this dark tale'
    HEAT magazine'A suspense-fuelled read, offering a unique insight into domestic violence'
    i Paper'Baby Doll was dark, twisty and magnificent and [this] builds on her ability to place her female characters in the darkest of situations, only to see them fight their way to a world of survival'
    Stylist.co.uk***********************************************************************
    What if murder is your only way out?Single mom Kristy Tucker works as a press agent for the Texas Department of Corrections handling everything on death row from inmate interviews, to chronicling the last moments during an execution. Her job exposes Kristy to the worst of humanity and it's one that's beginning to take its toll.So when Kristy meets Lance Dobson, her son's martial arts instructor, she believes she's finally found her happy ending. She's wrong.Kristy soon discovers that Lance is a monster. Forced to endure his verbal and physical abuse, Kristy is serving her own life sentence . . . unless she's willing to take matters into her own hands. Perfectly poised to exploit the criminal justice system she knows so well, Kristy sets out to get rid of Lance - permanently.

  • THE WALLS

    Hollie Overton

    « BABY DOLL » (R&J Book Club Pick) A RIVETING THRILLER WITH DOMESTIC VIOLENCE, MURDER AND HOW FAR ONE WOMAN WILL GO TO PROTECT HER FAMILY AT ITS CORE.
    WHAT IF MURDER WAS YOUR ONLY WAY OUT?

    Single mom Kristy Tucker works as a press agent for the Texas Department of Corrections handling everything on death row from inmate interviews, to chronicling the last moments during an execution. Her job exposes Kristy to the worst of humanity and it's one that's beginning to take its toll.

    So when Kristy meets Lance Dobson, her son's martial arts instructor, she believes she's finally found her happy ending. Shes wrong.

    Kristy soon discovers that Lance is a monster. Forced to endure his verbal and physical abuse, Kristy is serving her own life sentence . . . unless she's willing to take matters into her own hands. Perfectly poised to exploit the criminal justice system she knows so well, Kristy sets out to get rid of Lance - permanently.

    Grand format 18.80 €
    Prix indicatif - Contacter votre libraire
    Sur commande
empty