Littérature générale

  • Elmet

    Fiona Mozley

    SHORTLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2017 WINNER OF A SOMERSET MAUGHAM AWARD 'A quiet explosion of a book, exquisite and unforgettable' The Economist 'A cleverly constructed rural Gothic fable . . . Elmet is a marvellous achievement' TLS 'Pastoral idyll, political expose, cosy family saga and horror tale, it reads like a traditional children's story that turns into a gangster film: Hansel and Gretel meets The Godfather' Sunday Times Daniel is heading north. He is looking for someone. The simplicity of his early life with Daddy and Cathy has turned menacing and fearful. They lived apart in the house that Daddy built for them in the woods with his bare hands. They foraged and hunted. Cathy was more like their father: fierce and full of simmering anger. Daniel was more like their mother: gentle and kind. Sometimes, their father disappeared, and would return with a rage in his eyes. But when he was at home, he was at peace. He told them that the little copse in Elmet was theirs alone. But that wasn't true. Local men, greedy and watchful, began to circle like vultures. All the while, the terrible violence in Daddy grew. Brutal and beautiful in equal measure, Elmet is a compelling portrayal of a family living on the fringes of contemporary society, as well as a gripping exploration of the disturbing actions people are capable of when pushed to their limits.

    Grand format 14.40 €
    Prix indicatif - Contacter votre libraire
    Sur commande
  • Katerina

    James Frey

    A kiss, a touch. A smile and a beating heart. Love and sex and dreams, art and drugs and the madness of youth. Betrayal and heartbreak, regret and pain, the melancholy of age. Katerina , the explosive new novel by America's most controversial writer, is a sweeping love story alternating between 1992 Paris and Los Angeles in 2017. At its center are a young writer and a young model on the verge of fame, both reckless, impulsive, addicted and deeply in love. Twenty-five years later, the writer is rich, famous, and numb and he wants to drive his car into a tree, when he receives an anonymous message that draws him back to the life, and possibly the love, he abandoned years prior. Written in the same percussive, propulsive, dazzling, breathtaking style as A Million Little Pieces , Katerina echoes and complements that most controversial of memoirs, and plays with the same issues of fiction and reality that created, nearly destroyed, and then recreated James Frey in the global imagination.

    Grand format 14.75 €
    Prix indicatif - Contacter votre libraire
  • The stranger

    Harlan Coben

    Grand format 12.90 €
    Prix indicatif - Contacter votre libraire
    Épuisé
  • Anglais MIDNIGHT SUN

    Stephenie Meyer

    When Edward Cullen and Bella Swan met in Twilight, an iconic love story was born. But until now, fans have heard only Bella's side of the story. At last, readers can experience Edward's version in the long-awaited companion novel, Midnight Sun. This unforgettable tale as told through Edward's eyes takes on a new and decidedly dark twist.

    Grand format 19.95 €
    Prix indicatif - Contacter votre libraire
  • Caught

    Harlan Coben

    Grand format 12.90 €
    Prix indicatif - Contacter votre libraire
    Épuisé
  • Anglais A Private Cathedral

    James Lee Burke

    Detective Dave Robicheaux is caught in the crossfire of Louisiana's oldest and bloodiest gangland feud... The merciless Shondell and Balangie families have been bitter rivals in New Iberia's underworld for generations. But the heirs to the two criminal empires, Isolde Balangie and Johnny Shondell, have eloped and Robicheaux must find them.

    Grand format 14.75 €
    Prix indicatif - Contacter votre libraire
  • SWEET SORROW

    David Nicholls

    One life-changing summer Sixteen-year-old Charlie meets Fran... 8 million copies since STARTER FOR TEN first introduced us to his incomparable talent for making us laugh, cry and wince with recognition in the space of a single sentence; ten years after ONE DAY became the iconic love story for a generation; five years since the journey of US took him to the Man Booker Prize long-list; DAVID NICHOLLS has written a major new novel, SWEET SORROW : a hymn to the tragicomedy of ordinary lives, a celebration of the reviving power of friendship and that brief, blinding explosion of first love that perhaps can only be looked at directly once it has burned out. 'Nicholls writes with such tender precision about love' The Times 'There is a sharp empathetic intelligence to his writing that makes his characters real . . . the clear writing often dazzles with truth . . . sad funny, soulful' Observer 'A sublime talent for illuminating the murky causeway that most of us have to navigate between darkness and light' Donal Ryan 'Nicholls' ability to create and then subvert the traditional plot for comedy is the secret of his success. It makes us confront the gap between what we expect from storytelling and what happens in real life' Spectator

    Grand format 22.95 €
    Prix indicatif - Contacter votre libraire
    Sur commande
  • A SHOUT IN THE RUINS

    Kevin Powers

    Following his hugely celebrated debut novel, The Yellow Birds , Kevin Powers returns to the battlefield and its aftermath, this time in his native Virginia, just before and during the Civil War and ninety years later. The novel pinpoints with unerring emotional depth the nature of random violence, the necessity of love and compassion, and the fragility and preciousness of life. It will endure as a stunning novel about what we leave behind, what a life is worth, what is said and unsaid, and the fact that ultimately what will survive of us is love.

    Grand format 14.75 €
    Prix indicatif - Contacter votre libraire
  • Anglais The Mothers

    Brit Bennett

    Set within a contemporary black community in Southern California, Brit Bennett's mesmerizing first novel is an emotionally perceptive story about community, love, and ambition. It begins with a secret.

    Grand format 14.75 €
    Prix indicatif - Contacter votre libraire
    Indisponible
  • The Jane Austen Book Club meets "The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society". Can a village in need, find hope after the devastation of war?

    Grand format 14.75 €
    Prix indicatif - Contacter votre libraire
    À paraître
  • A SPARK OF LIGHT

    Jodi Picoult

    The masterful new novel from the Number One bestselling author of Small Great Things . The Center for women's reproductive health offers a last chance at hope - but nobody ends up there by choice. Its very existence is controversial, and to the demonstrators who barricade the building every day, the service it offers is no different from legalised murder. Now life and death decisions are being made horrifyingly real: a lone protester with a gun has taken the staff, patients and visitors hostage. Starting at the tensest moment in the negotiations for their release, A Spark of Light unravels backwards, revealing hour by urgent hour what brought each of these people - the gunman, the negotiator, the doctors, nurses and women who have come to them for treatment - to this point. And certainties unwind as truths and secrets are peeled away, revealing the complexity of balancing the right to life with the right to choose.

    Grand format 11.85 €
    Prix indicatif - Contacter votre libraire
    Sur commande
  • «I am Ana. I was the wife of Jesus.» So begins the new novel from the number one New York Times bestselling author of "The Secret Life of Bees" and "The Invention of Wings", an extraordinary story set in the first century about a woman who finds her voice and her destiny in a time of great despair and great hope.

    Grand format 19.95 €
    Prix indicatif - Contacter votre libraire
    Sur commande
  • Grand format 25.95 €
    Prix indicatif - Contacter votre libraire
    Sur commande
  • THE IMMORTALISTS

    Chloé Benjamin

    'Immersive and impressive' The Sunday Times ' Benjamin writes with verve and charm ' Guardian The NEW YORK TIMES Top Ten Bestseller It's 1969, and holed up in a grimy tenement building in New York's Lower East Side is a travelling psychic who claims to be able to tell anyone the date they will die. The four Gold children, too young for what they're about to hear, sneak out to learn their fortunes. Such prophecies could be dismissed as trickery and nonsense, yet the Golds bury theirs deep. Over the years that follow they attempt to ignore, embrace, cheat and defy the 'knowledge' given to them that day - but it will shape the course of their lives forever. 'Such is her dazzling sureness of touch that you wonder if here is a writer who is truly capable of anything' Daily Mail

    Grand format 14.75 €
    Prix indicatif - Contacter votre libraire
    Sur commande
  • Anglais Cape may

    Chip Cheek

    September 1957. Henry and Effie, young newlyweds from Georgia, arrive in Cape May, New Jersey, for their honeymoon. It's the end of the season and the town is deserted. As they tentatively discover each other, they begin to realize that everyday married life might be disappointingly different from their happily-ever-after fantasy.

    Grand format 14.75 €
    Prix indicatif - Contacter votre libraire
    Indisponible
  • Grand format 25.95 €
    Prix indicatif - Contacter votre libraire
    Sur commande
  • When Armand Gamache receives a letter inviting him to an abandoned farmhouse outside of Three Pines, the former head of the Sûreté du Québec discovers that a complete stranger has named him as executor of her will.

    Grand format 12.90 €
    Prix indicatif - Contacter votre libraire
  • Anglais Nature Stories

    Enid Blyton

    A collection of thirty wonderful stories about the nature and the countryside from one of the world's best-loved children's authors.

    Grand format 12.45 €
    Prix indicatif - Contacter votre libraire
    Sur commande
  • A hilarious and heart-warming novel set in Manchester about a half-Nigerian teenager searching for the answer to that essential question: Who am I? Perfect for fans of "Queenie" by Candice Carty-Williams and Zadie Smith's" White Teeth".

    Grand format 14.75 €
    Prix indicatif - Contacter votre libraire
    Sur commande
  • Summer without men

    Siri Hustvedt

    Grand format 14.40 €
    Prix indicatif - Contacter votre libraire
    Sur commande
  • Grand format 12.45 €
    Prix indicatif - Contacter votre libraire
    Sur commande
  • @2@The twelfth book in the@18@@20@ Sunday Times@21@@19@ and @18@@20@New York Times@21@@19@ @20@bestselling series@21@, perfect for fans of @20@John le Carre@21@. @20@Lee Child@21@ calls Bernie Gunther @20@'one of the greatest anti-heroes ever written'@21@.@3@@2@@20@France, 1956. Bernie Gunther is on the run. @21@If there's one thing he's learned, it's never to refuse a job from a high-ranking secret policeman. But this is exactly what he's just done. Now he's a marked man, with the East German Stasi on his tail.@3@@2@Fleeing across Europe, he remembers the last time he worked with his pursuer: in 1939, to solve a murder at the Berghof, Hitler's summer hideaway in the Bavarian Alps. Hitler is long dead, the Berghof now a ruined shell, and the bizarre time Bernie spent there should be no more than a distant memory.@3@@2@But as he pushes on to Berlin and safety, Bernie will find that no matter how far he thinks he has put Nazi Germany behind him, for him it will always be unfinished business. The Berghof is not done with Bernie yet.@3@

    Grand format 12.45 €
    Prix indicatif - Contacter votre libraire
    Sur commande
  • Looker

    Laura Sims

    Grand format 14.75 €
    Prix indicatif - Contacter votre libraire
  • Grand format 12.90 €
    Prix indicatif - Contacter votre libraire
empty