Headline Feature

  • A MATTER OF MURDER is the seventh Cotswold village crime novel in Ann Granger's Campbell and Carter series. Sure to appeal to fans of Midsomer Murders and M. C. Beaton's Agatha Raisin mysteries. Two years ago, Miff Ferguson chose to opt out of the rat race. Since then he's been living rough and happily so. That is until now. For, as the first signs of winter approach, everything changes. While looking for shelter, Miff stumbles across the dead body of a young woman inside a dilapidated warehouse. Quickly realising he's not alone, and what's worse he's been spotted, Miff becomes embroiled in a game of cat-and-mouse with a killer that forces him to abandon his life on the streets and take refuge with his aunt and uncle in the village of Weston St Ambrose. But, despite his best efforts to lie low, trouble seems to follow him and when another dead body is discovered at a local farm, it's clear Miff is not free from danger. With the clock ticking, Inspector Jess Campbell and Superintendent Ian Carter must join forces once again with the team of police at Bamford to piece together the puzzle before another innocent life is lost... Praise for Ann Granger's crime novels: 'Characterisation, as ever with Granger, is sharp and astringent ' The Times 'Her usual impeccable plotting is fully in place' Good Book Guide 'A clever and lively book' Margaret Yorke 'This engrossing story looks like the start of a highly enjoyable series ' Scotsman

    Poche 14.80 €
    Prix indicatif - Contacter votre libraire
    Sur commande
  • Dense fog masks foul play in the streets of London, as Ann Granger brings us her seventh Victorian mystery featuring Scotland Yard's Inspector Ben Ross and his wife Lizzie. It is March 1870. London is in the grip of fog and ice. But Scotland Yard's Inspector Ben Ross has more than the weather to worry about when the body of a young woman is found in a dustbin at the back of a Piccadilly restaurant. Ben must establish who the victim is before he can find out how and why she came to be there. His enquiries lead him first to a bootmaker in Salisbury and then to a landowner in Yorkshire. Meanwhile, Ben's wife, Lizzie, aided by their eagle-eyed maid, Bessie, is investigating the mystery of a girl who is apparently being kept a prisoner in her own home. As Ben pursues an increasingly complex case, Lizzie reveals a vital piece of evidence that brings him one step closer to solving the crime... Praise for Ann Granger's crime novels: 'Characterisation, as ever with Granger, is sharp and astringent ' The Times 'Her usual impeccable plotting is fully in place' Good Book Guide ' A clever and lively book' Margaret Yorke 'This engrossing story looks like the start of a highly enjoyable series ' Scotsman

    Poche 14.80 €
    Prix indicatif - Contacter votre libraire
    Sur commande
  • AN UNFINISHED MURDER is the sixth Cotswold village crime novel in Ann Granger's Campbell and Carter series. Sure to appeal to fans of Midsomer Murders and M. C. Beaton's Agatha Raisin mysteries. Mitchell and Markby come out of retirement to crack a cold case... As young children, Josh Browning and his sister, Dilys, stumbled across a dead body while playing on the outskirts of their Cotswold village. Terrified by what they'd seen, neither of them told a soul. Now, twenty years later, Josh finds the dead woman's charm bracelet among his sister's possessions. Who better to tell than his trusted friend, the man he gardens for, retired Superintendent Alan Markby? As Markby listens to Josh's confession, alarm bells start to ring. The dates and details tie in with a missing person case that was never solved. Joining forces with Superintendent Ian Carter, who also investigated the original case, and Inspector Jess Campbell, from the region where the missing girl was last seen, Markby delves into the unsolved mystery. Together, they are determined to catch a clever killer who almost got away with murder...

    Poche 15.40 €
    Prix indicatif - Contacter votre libraire
    Sur commande
  • The Oakley family has always lived in the shadow of crime. In 1889 Cora Oakley died by inhaling a poisonous gas in her sleep, and her husband William was put on trial for her murder. Over a hundred years later, the only remaining members of the Oakley family are two elderly sisters who live in the rambling ancestral home. Unable to maintain the mansion, the sisters have decided to sell up and live comfortably off the proceeds. Then a young Polish man named Jan appears, claiming to be William Oakley's great-grandson and threatening to ruin the sisters' plans. When he is found dead, it seems that the shadow of murder has returned to haunt the Oakley family once again, and Superintendent Markby must look back at the events of a century ago to find the killer...

    Grand format 12.20 €
    Prix indicatif - Contacter votre libraire
    Épuisé
empty